{Target}

SLO Target

Today, Target opened its first store in SLO. Previously, the nearest Target was about a 25-30 minute drive on 101 in either direction. I’ve been so excited for it to open–it’s such a fun, easy place to shop for essentials, household items, clothes, and more.  I’ve actually been constructing my shopping list since about March!

So, of course, as soon as I was done teaching this afternoon, I rushed over to the store to check it out. I managed to restrain myself and stick to my list, but it was still fun to go browse for awhile (yes, I know, I forgot my reusable bags…bad Kelsey!).

Target Bags

As excited as I am to get a Target in SLO, there are definitely some down sides to it opening. SLO is a small town that’s always prided itself in it’s local businesses and resisted anything too “commercial,” a viewpoint I wholeheartedly endorse. And as an employee of a local small business, I am always conscious of the effects a big store like this may have on our business and others like us. There has been a lot of debate and uproar in the community since the plans were announced, but I guess only time will tell what the outcome will be.

What do you think about Target opening in SLO?

Leave a Reply

