{Running…}

I’ve always been a bit of an exercise nut. When I was younger, I played just about every sport possible and then in high school, I focused my attention on water polo and softball. In college, I joined an all women’s gym and became obsessed with spin class–I think it satisfied my need for competition and hard exercise.

But when my husband and I both started our post-grad programs, money became a little tighter, and I was forced to quit my beloved gym.

After quitting, I immediately took up running to try and fill the gym void.  I used to absolutely hate running and had probably never run more than 2 miles in my life. But last October, I completed my first half marathon with sister (!) and running became more natural to me, so running seemed like the perfect choice to make-up for lost gym time.

A few months ago, I discovered a paved running trail paralleling the railroad tracks behind my house. It’s the perfect distance–about 3 miles–and always full of families and pets, so I feel safe running alone at all hours of the day. And it even has beautiful views to enjoy while I run!

So, long story short, I thought I’d share with you my new favorite place to exercise, with help of my iphone’s hipstamatic app!

Here’s start of the trail after crossing over the railroad bridge:

Railroad Trail 1

At mile 2, I hike up this hill to add in the extra 1/4 mile I need to complete the 3 miles. It’s a great break from running and there are amazing views at the top!

Railroad Trail 2

Railroad Trail 3

I have to cross back over the railroad bridge to get back to my neck of the woods.

Railroad Trail 4

But again, the climb is totally worth it! This is always my victory view–not bad, right?!

Railroad Trail 5

Railroad Trail 6

Although I loved spin class, I used to feel totally wiped out for the rest of the day after a session. Now, I feel like I get a great workout and still feel energized after a run. I may never go back to the gym even when I can afford it!

What do you do for exercise?

One response

  1. Pingback: {Sally Loo’s} | a.slo.life

Leave a Reply

