{PW’s Spicy Beans with Crazy Good Cornbread}

Spicy Beans

When I saw the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for spicy beans this week, I just knew I needed to try it. I’m admittedly a bit of a lot of a bean freak and the jalepenos sealed the deal–I’ve been a bit obsessed with cooking with them lately. Plus, we’ve been having some foggy nights and mornings here on the central coast, so it isn’t too warm to be having a nice bowl of hot comfort soup–and you know how I like my comfort food, right?

Here’s the recipe. Since I’m not eating meat, I eliminated the ham hock and to beef up (no pun intended) the flavor, used one container of vegetable stock instead of most of the water. I also added some smoked paprika for some additional flavor–I was so excited to finally find some! Also, I exchanged one of the red bell peppers for a green bell pepper simply because that’s what I had on hand.

Veggies

To top it all, I added some grated pepper jack cheese and fresh avocado slices–delicious!

The only problem is we have enough leftover to last about a month and since Jeff isn’t much of a leftover guy, I’m going to be stuck eating them all on my own. Will someone please come help me? Please??

Spicy Beans for One

To complete the meal, I made some crazy good cornbread as I like to call it. Seriously though, I think I ate about half a cup of just the batter…

Corn Bread

Cornbread is super easy to make from scratch and relatively cost effective too.

Here’s the recipe:

Crazy Good Cornbread
Serves 4-6 (or 2 if you eat like me…)

Print recipe!

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup unbleached white flour
3/4 cup whole grain cornmeal (stone ground if possible)
4 tablespoons sugar
5 teaspoons baking powder (really!)
1 egg
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons melted butter

Steps:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Stir together all the dry ingredients. Beat the egg with the milk and add it to the flour mixture along with the melted butter. Stir everything well.

Spread the better in a buttered 9-inch pie pan and bake for 30-35 minutes or until lightly browned around the edges.

Top with a little butter and honey, if desired, and enjoy!

Cornbread

Now someone please come help me eat these beans!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: {Vegetarian Chili} | a.slo.life

Leave a Reply

