{Back to Work Lunches Part I}

Quinoa Black Bean Hummus Flatbread Sandwich

Hi everyone, hope you had a great weekend!

Since I headed back to school/work last week, I had to start getting used to pre-making my lunch again, especially since I don’t always have leftovers to bring. So I thought it might be fun this week to focus on easy, healthy-ish lunches that you can make ahead the night. Sound good? Good.

For today’s lunch, I made a Quinoa Black Bean Hummus Flatbread Sandwich. That’s a mouthful! It was supposed to be a pita, but I accidentally grabbed the wrong bag during my weekly trip to Trader Joe’s… As the week goes on, my lunches get significantly less complicated–this sandwich/pita/flatbread is probably the most labor intensive lunch of the week and it took all of about 15 minutes to make. It’s also really filling, which is great for me since I tend to lose focus when I’m hungry!

PS: Here are the ingredients–this is my absolute favorite hummus!

Ingredients

Quinoa Black Bean Hummus Flatbread Sandwich Recipe

Makes 1 sandwich

Print recipe!

Ingredients:

For the sandwich:
1 whole wheat flatbread of pita
1 tablespoon hummus
5-6 pieces fresh spinach

For the filling:
1 cup cooked quinoa
1/4 cup black beans
1/4 cup red onion, chopped
1/2 jalepeno, chopped
1/2 lime, for juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Steps:

In a small bowl, combine all filling ingredients and mix well.

If using pita, spread hummus on the inside, fill with spinach leaves, and then fill remaining space with filling. If using flatbread, spread hummus on top, cover hummus with spinach leaves, then add filling. To eat, roll the sides of the flatbread to create a taco-esque sandwich.

Enjoy!

Quinoa Black Bean Hummus Flatbread Sandwich

Do you bring your lunch to work with you each day?

One response

Leave a Reply

