{DIY Cake Stands}

Cake Stand

Happy Saturday everyone! I’m actually home visiting family this weekend, so I thought I’d share with you a project that I worked on this past week. On my first visit to Kenneth Volk winery, I fell in love with these cake stands they had on sale in their outdoor garden section. The stands were homemade and ridiculously cute, but were pretty basic in their construction–just a pretty plate attached to a stand. And with a price tag of $30-$50 each, they definitely weren’t in my budget to purchase. Then, when browsing Etsy one day (don’t you just love that website?) I came across another vender selling similar cake stands for around the same price. When I looked a little closer, I noticed that this seller had just used candleholders as the base for their cake stand and interesting plates for the top. Again, I didn’t wish to spend that much money on a cake stand, so I decided to make my own! I headed over to our local Cost Plus (World Market) to grab a few decently priced decorative plates and candleholders. Old antique plates and candleholders you might find at a garage sale would also be perfect.

Each plate probably took about 5 minutes of hand-on time and then a few hours to let the glue dry completely, and cost about $10-15 per finished cake stand.

Here’s the step by step process:

First, gather your materials. You’ll need a plate, a candleholder, tacky or epoxy glue, and a heavy book.

Note: You’ll need to pick a plate with as flat as a bottom as possible and a candleholder with as flat a top as possible to allow for the best attachment.

Plate

Candleholder

Tacky Glue

And I chose Harry Potter as my heavy book just for fun!

Book

Next, you just take your glue and line the outer rim of the candleholder. You then place the glue-side of the candleholder in the center of the plate. Finally, place your book on top of the candleholder to help the glue adhere the plate.

Cake stand in the process

I let my cake stand dry overnight just to sure, but you’ll probably be okay after a few hours. Here’s the finished product:

Cake Stand

I love the idea of using 5 or so of these as a spring or summer centerpiece, or at a bridal or baby shower–I just need to make a few more to complete my collection!

Cake Stands

I also love mixing the finishes and designs of the candleholders:

Cake Stands

What do you think of DIYing cake stands?

8 responses

  1. I love these! I picked up a cute one made with a vintage square Christmas plate one year at a ‘junk’ sale. I use it for my Christmas cards or to serve Christmas goodies. I’ve always been meaning to make some but never have. Now I will! They would make great gifts. Thanks Kelsey. I’m really enjoying your blog. :)

  2. I have a pretty one on my dining room table right now! I like the idea of doing some theme ones for holidays or special events.

  3. I made some of these with old china and candle holders from salvation army in April. They came out so cute! I will warn you though, I used heavy locktite and they still separated after a month or so. The blog I got the idea from said to use epoxy. So even though I hate that stuff I plan to redo mine. Let me know if yours stay together longer.

  4. Pingback: Make Your Own Cake Stands | Artistry by Adele

  5. Pingback: {Decorating for Christmas} | a.slo.life

Leave a Reply

