{Brussels Sprouts}

Brussel Sprouts

Last winter, I had my first brussels sprout last while home visiting my parents. Or rather, I was forced into trying my first brussel sprout–they definitely did not look appetizing and I had absolutely no desire to try them. But after I got over the weird smell, I actually found myself liking them! And even more shocking, Jeff did too! I feel like brussels sprouts were the “it” vegetable last fall/winter, but they ended up being a vegetable that I incorporate often in my diet. And with brussels sprout season finally beginning again, we decided to add them back into our normal side¬†repertoire.

Our favorite way to prepare them is just to add a little olive oil, salt, and pepper and place on aluminum foil in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. It enhances the inherent flavor of the brussels sprouts without overpowering them with added butter or seasonings.

My parents recently re-gifted to me the Williams-Sonoma Cooking from the Farmer’s Market cookbook so I thought I’d share with you what they say about buying and working with brussels sprouts:

“Brussels sprouts should have bright green leaves that cling tightly to firm, compact heads. Check that the stems are pale and moist, indicating freshness. Brussels sprouts can be store in a plastic bag in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.”

“Rinse and dry the heads. Snap away any damaged or browned leaves from the outside and trim away the stem ends. Cut a shallow X in the stem end with the tip of a paring knife before cooking so that densely packed heads will cook evenly. Larger heads can be halved or quartered to shorten the cooking time.”

What do you think of brussels sprouts?

One response

  1. Dave and I both love them too…(still working on the girls). I toss them in a little olive oil, spread them out on a cookie sheet, sprinkle with salt & pepper and roast them at 400 for 15-20 minutes. Mmmm, guess I’ll have to buy some too.

Leave a Reply

