{Friday Book Review}

Ella Enchanted

Happy Friday everyone!

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a book review, so I figured it was about time I shared with the the book I just finished reading–Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. You’re probably thinking–isn’t that a kid’s book? In the education world, we would actually refer to it as a young adult or YA text, but, yes, technically it is. Our school has SSR (sustained silent reading) at the end of every school day, so I grabbed this book out of our classroom library to have something to read while my students read their books. And then I couldn’t put it down…

I’ve always had an affinity towards medieval based YA books so that genre, coupled with a strong female protagonist, makes this my perfect book. And for a YA book, it’s surprisingly adult.

It’s a retelling of classic Cinderella but it’s anything but classic.”The young protagonist, Ella, was given a “gift” at birth by a fairy to always be obedient and do what others tell her. Literally. The curse, coupled with her strong-willed, independent personality leads her to a lot of trouble, as I bet you can imagine. She’s spunky, fun, and totally lovable, and I honestly have loved every part of this book.

I actually have dreams of writing my own YA book, complete with magic and a strong female protagonist, of course, and this book has inspired me even more so to actually do just that. Hopefully that inspiration will continue onto Christmas Break when I actually would have time to do something like that.

Only time will tell, I suppose!

One response

Leave a Reply

