{Vegetable Pasta}

Vegetable Pasta

After a long, fun weekend of overeating, I decided I needed something a bit healthier to get me back on track for the start of a new week. Plus, I didn’t do quite as well as I had hoped eating all of my vegetables this week, so this was my last attempt to use as much as possible before my new box came. I think I managed to use a portion of almost every vegetable in either the pasta or the salad I made to go along with it–hopefully this is a trend I can keep up with the rest of the week!

In case you’re interested, here’s what we got in this week’s box: Broccoli, Carrots, Vine Ripened Organic Heirloom Tomatoes, Organic Romaine Lettuce, Blue Lake Green Beans, Spinach, Fresno Chile’s, Jalapeno Peppers, Red Beets, Vine Ripened Strawberries, Fuji Apples, Joi Choi- Red Bok Choy, and Bilko Cabbage. Looks like I’m making some stir fry this week!

Like pretty much everything I make, this pasta was simple to make and can easily be altered to fit whatever you have on hand. All you really need to do is boil some pasta, sauté some vegetables in olive oil, combine the two together, and you’re done! I made sure I made extras for to take for lunch the next day too which worked out well.

Vegetables

Here’s the recipe:

Vegetable Pasta
Serves 2

Print recipe!

Ingredients:

4oz your choice pasta (I mixed whole wheat penne and spaghetti noodles cause I’m cool like that)
1 squash, sliced
1 cup green beans, halved
2 cups chard, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
6 marinated artichoke hearts
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt, to taste
Pepper, to taste

Steps:

Cook pasta according to directions.

While pasta cooks, heat olive oil in a medium sized pan. Add green beans, squash, and garlic and cook for about 5-6 minutes, stirring often.

Add chard, artichoke hearts, salt, and pepper, and cook for about another 5 minutes.

Combine with pasta and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

