{Mama’s Meatball}

This weekend I had the opportunity to finally visit a local’s favorite in SLO–Mama’s Meatball. I’ve never been sure why its Mama’s Meatball instead of Mama’s Meatballs but maybe its an Italian thing? Or maybe she just had one meatball?

Anyway, Mama’s Meatball is a small Italian restaurant in The Creamery in downtown SLO. I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I’d never been there until this weekend. You would think I would go often with it’s proximity to Spikes! But after the meal, I now know why its such a favorite around here–the food was amazing!

The owner and chef, Nicola Allegretta, grew up in Italy and you can definitely taste it in his food. On his website, he writes:

We serve home-style Italian cuisine, using only the finest and the freshest local ingredients at an affordable price. As far back as I can remember, my fondest childhood memories involved spending time in the kitchen with my mom in Italy. I used to spend hours watching her cook for friends and family. She was an incredible cook and I learned a lot from her. I used to tell everybody“nobody cooks like Mama!” With over 19 years of experience in the restaurant business cooking, catering and working directly under some of the most talented chefs in Italy, France, England, Florida, and Southern California, I decided to open up my first restaurant in San Luis Obispo. Now you get to taste some of Mama’s most delicious recipes!

The wait was about 45 minutes on a Saturday night and the service was still a bit slow once we got inside, but none of us were in a hurry so that didn’t really matter. We ordered a bottle of local cabernet from Ancient Peaks and an artichoke bruschetta while we waited. Plus, it gave us more time to savor the food!

Wine

Artichoke Bruschetta

The dinner menu was a bit overwhelming because of its size but I guess that meant there was something for everyone! All items could be ordered in a small or regular size are were modestly priced at $8-9 for a small portion. We all ordered the small sizes and the portions were generous and definitely filling.

Here’s a glimpse of some of what we ordered:

Pizza Margherita

Pizza MargheritaSpaghetti with Meatballs

Spaghetti with MeatballsPolenta with Mushrooms

Polenta with Mushrooms

Orecchiette con Braciole

Orecchiette con Braciole

Be warned, the tables are placed a bit close to one another so be prepared to get cozy with your neighbors, but overall, I highly recommend eating here if you’re in the area. You can also order a meal to pick-up or even have it delivered to your home or hotel. I definitely will be back soon and often!

You can check out their website here.

Leave a Reply

