{Quinoa Burgers}

Quinoa Burgers

I never really noticed how many burgers/sandwiches/things contained in big hunks of bread that we make until I started this blog! What can I say, I really like my carbs–and everything tastes better in sandwich form! Quinoa Burgers have pretty much become a staple in our house, way before I decided to stop eating meat. They’re Jeff’s favorite veggie-ish burger and I love that they freeze so easily and I can eat them later for lunch.

We normally use eggs as a binder for the burgers but this time, we decided to experiment with a flax egg (1tb flax + 3tb hot water). But I think these burgers are a little more crumbly than those black bean burgers because the flax egg didn’t bind as well as I had hoped. For all those vegans out there, you might try doubling the flax egg to see if that works, but if you eat eggs, they’re probably the best option. But hey, the flax does provide added nutrients to the burgers so you might as well try it first–it can’t hurt!

Quinoa Burgers Recipe
Makes about 6 burgers (cook all before freezing leftovers)

Print recipe!

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa
2 cups water
3/4 can black beans
1/4 red onion, diced
1 clove garlic, diced
1 jalepeno, diced
1 ear fresh corn
1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
1 teaspoon pepper (or to taste)
1 teaspoon cumin (or to taste)
1-2 eggs, for binder
2 tablespoons bread crumbs
1 tablespoon canola oil, for frying
2 whole wheat buns
1 avocado, for topping
Condiments: mayo, mustard, ketchup

Steps:

Soak quinoa in bowl of cold water for about five minutes and then drain.

Add the quinoa and water to a medium saucepan, bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cover. Cook until water evaporates, about 7-8 minutes.

Add quinoa, black beans, corn, red onion, garlic, jalepeno, and bread crumbs into a bowl and combine.

Add salt, pepper, and cumin to taste.

Add 1 egg and mix until completely combined. Add additional egg if more binder is necessary.

Add oil to a medium frying pan. Fry each burger until lightly browned, about 3 minutes each side (be careful flipping these burgers–they can get a bit messy!)

Assemble burgers, and enjoy!

Mixing Ingredients

Binding the Burgers

Frying the Burgers

After Frying

At least I balance my carbs with a good salad–that makes up for it, right?

Salad

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment