{Salsa Verde}

Salsa Verde

Remember those tomatillos? Well on Sunday, we used them to make the most delicious salsa verde I think I’ve ever had. I’d never made salsa verde before, but after the success of the salsa I’d made the weekend before, I figured I’d give it a shot!

It was the perfect addition to the enchiladas we made that night (post to come soon)!

Salsa Verde Ingredients

Salsa Verde Recipe:
Makes 1 pint

Adapted from: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/tomatillo_salsa_verde/

Print recipe!

Ingredients:

3 medium size tomatillos
1 can fire roasted diced green chile (4oz)
1-2 whole jalepenos (depending on heat preference)
1 cup fresh cilantro
½ yellow onion
Juice of 1 lime
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt (or to taste)

Steps:

Slice tomatillos in half and place in broiler (cut side down) for 5-7 minutes, until skin becomes slightly blackened.

Rough chop onion, jalepenos, and cilantro.

Combine all ingredients in blender, including lime juice.

Pulse until desired consistency, place in jar, and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

So good!

3 responses

  1. Okay, I just made my 2nd batch of last week’s salsa to take with us to a friend’s lake place today. So I guess that means I need to try this one now. I love salsa verde but I must admit I’ve always been a little intimidated by tomatillos.

  2. I was a little intimidated too, but they were really easy to work with. You just had to take off the outer wrapping, cut in half, broil, then throw in the food processor!

Leave a comment